Key Staff

Subhiya Idilbi Associate Director SPA - Key Leadership Program

Sophie Idilbi is the Associate Director for the Key Executive Leadership programs; she joined the Key staff in the fall of 2007 as an advisor for the Key Executive Leadership Certificate Programs. Sop

  si8400a@american.edu

  (202) 885-6256

Patrick Malone Executive in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Malone is an Executive-in-Residence in the Department of Public Administration and Policy, where he teaches courses in public sector leadership, executive problem solving, organizational ana

  pmalone@american.edu

  (202) 885-6271

Dawn McAvoy Coaching Administrator SPA - School of Public Affairs

Leadership, coaching, and higher education are three of Dawn's greatest passions. Some of her previous roles include consultant, facilitator, coach, and recruiter, working with multiple government age

  dmcavoy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3262

Charlene Ploetz Academic Counselor SPA - School of Public Affairs

Char Ploetz is the academic advisor for Key Executive Leadership MPA and Executive Leadership graduate certificate candidates.

  cploetz@american.edu

Andrew Rahaman Executive in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Dr. Rahaman has over 25 years working nationally and internationally in diverse leadership positions building teams to design and implement both technical projects and overseeing geographically disper

  rahaman@american.edu

George Reese Program Coordinator SPA - School of Public Affairs

George joined the Key Executive Leadership Programs office in December 2018 as the Program Coordinator for the TSA Leadership Institute. Prior to coming to American University he was a trainer and the

  greese@american.edu

  (202) 885-3248

Robert Tobias Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer SPA - Key Leadership Program

Robert Tobias teaches courses in public sector leadership in the Key Executive Leadership Programs. He also teaches facilitation and team development, conflict management and alternative dispute resol

  rtobias@american.edu

Reginald Wells Professorial Lecturer SPA - School of Public Affairs

Reginald F. Wells was named Deputy Commissioner of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) Office of Human Resources effective July 15, 2002 after serving short tenures as Deputy Associate Commissi

  wells@american.edu

Ruth Zaplin IR Sr Professorial Lectur SPA - Key Leadership Program

Dr. Ruth Zaplin is an Executive-in-Residence, School of Public Affairs, Department of Public Administration & Policy and Director of International Programs, Key Executive Leadership Programs at Americ

  zaplin@american.edu